Trying something new

I’m halfway through a good few days off work and lots of crochet has been helping me to unwind and relax.

The blanket I’m making for Darren’s little nephew is growing at a super fast rate now I’m really into it, and it’s not far off being complete:

20130906-222256.jpg

But I like a bit of variety so I wanted to get cracking on a few new bits and pieces as well. With my bunny person pattern now released into the wild (in this month’s Inside Crochet magazine), I wanted to do something slightly different. I have a full set of Clover Amour hooks but have never used the smallest ones in the set – so I fancied doing something with finer yarn. Same goes for the bigger ones in the set, which need chunkier yarn.

So one trip to John Lewis at Cribbs Causeway later, and I had a lovely bag full of beautiful colours of Rowan Siena 4 ply and Rowan Softknit Cotton. I know Rowan’s expensive, but it’s nice to treat yourself every once in a while:

20130906-222908.jpg

So this evening, with a 2.5mm hook, I’ve started making a little blue amigurumi monkey. You probably can’t tell from the picture but it’s quite a bit smaller than my usual characters… And I’ve enjoyed working with different yarn.

20130906-223130.jpg

Tomorrow I’m going to make a bigger, snugglier creature with the chunky cotton. Little and large.

2 thoughts on “Trying something new

Leave a Reply

