Oh help! Oh no! It’s a Gruffalo!

With my secret project out of the way (more on that in a couple of months), this weekend I got on to my next commission. A good friend of mine asked me to make a Gruffalo for his nephew.

My nephew is also a big fan of the Gruffalo, so I was already pretty familiar with him… But I was looking forward to creating my own version with a certain amount of trepidation.

I haven’t tried to recreate an existing character since the Octonauts I made for my nephew a few months ago (unless you count Macho Man Randy Savage of course, but that was a whole different thing). It’s not easy making something that looks dead right and doesn’t look like a rubbish imitation.

But I’ve made a good start on this one, I think – after having to resist the urge to start all over again a couple of times, I’m glad I stuck with it. He is only a head and a face so far – and still needs ears and horns, but it’s looking OK. Here he is with a comparison pic for anyone not familiar with the Gruffalo!

20130714-210931.jpg

20130714-210952.jpg

One thought on “Oh help! Oh no! It’s a Gruffalo!

  1. Simply Knots

    I think you did a marvelous job! Isn’t it exciting to get to a point where you can relax and tell yourself that you did a good job? 🙂 I can’t wait to see the finished Gruffalo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

