Evolving (with opposable thumbs)

This weekend I’m working, so my usual Saturday craft marathon hasn’t happened – but I have managed to make some progress on Mr Monkey. And I’m finally feeling happy with how he’s looking (apart from the fact he has no legs yet):

20130622-221651.jpg

Making something totally new (I don’t use patterns for my toys) is always an interesting process as it includes a certain amount of trial and error. And through said trial and error, this chap has two new features. Firstly, quite by accident, he’s ended up with flexible arms – you can pose them and they stay in place. I think it’s because they’re a bit longer than usual, and less tightly stuffed. However it’s happened, I like it. Secondly (and deliberately), he has thumbs.

20130622-222635.jpg

Tomorrow, after work, this little fella will get his legs. And some special personalisation. Then it will be on to the next one…

4 thoughts on “Evolving (with opposable thumbs)

Leave a Reply

