My first paid commission

Today I started work on my first paid commission. Not so long ago, I posted a picture on my Twitter account (@skellers) of a little amigurumi experiment I’d done. It was a person in a bunny costume. It was OK but really just a prototype and I wasn’t massively impressed by it. But a friend of mine was, and asked me to make one for her little baby boy.

I’ve been pondering ideas for it over the past week or so and finally got around to starting it today. This time I’m using Rico Creative Cotton Aran (the same yarn I used for the bag I just made) for a less fluffy and more professional looking finish. I’ve been asked to make it about 12 inches tall which is bigger than I would usually aim for, but is actually much easier – firstly the aran weight yarn is easier to work with than 4ply or DK, and secondly it’s not as fiddly to add details as it is on smaller pieces. So I’ll definitely be doing more on this scale. Here’s the finished head… the body will start to take shape after work tomorrow:

20130421-214109.jpg

The thing that’s been making me nervous about selling my creations is knowing how much to charge. The materials don’t cost a great deal but how do you price up the time spent, especially when it is something you enjoy doing regardless of where the finished product ends up? If anyone has any advice I’d be interested to hear it.

(In case anyone is wondering, until today I was working hard on my blanket, completing 20 squares in the past few days… But I’m having a little break from it before I do the 20 extra squares needed to complete it. I can only take so much repetition before I get distracted by something else!)

4 thoughts on “My first paid commission

  1. Kowareta

    That looks fantastic! Really clean and professional :D.
    I was at a local market yesterday where lots of people were selling knitted and crocheted work. I saw a pile of crocheted blankets marked as $25 each and it occurred to me: most people would consider $25 to be expensive for a blanket, but I can see how much time and effort has gone into them and think they’re being sold quite cheap.
    I’ve been nervous about selling my work as well. I think because I enjoy the work I under-value it monetarily. My partner’s been really encouraging and one thing he said was “if you’re not getting at least 100% profit, it’s not worth the time”. So once you’ve tallied up the materials, double the total and there’s your price idea. I think that’s a good starting point, to make sure you’re making at least 100% back. From there I’d starting asking people’s opinions of what they think it’s worth, maybe.

    Reply
  2. thelittlemaker

    That really is beautifully worked, it will look so cute! The pricing thing is a tricky one, I’ve done craft fairs and things and I never know about pricing. The cost of materials generally isn’t very much for things I’ve made, but the time and effort involved should get some reward (even though we all just love doing these things!) . I do hope you get what you deserve for it xx

    Reply
  3. shantierfranklin

    Is that Fiona? Heh, heh, heh. That is too cute. You want to factor the cost of materials, effort and shipping prices. Best thing to do is either search on the internet for shipping prices or go to your local post office. They would be happy to help you! Gook luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

