Octonauts: A crocheted labour of love

My two-year-old nephew loves the Octonauts. And I love him.  So when it came to choosing a whimsical new crochet project, I decided to have a bash at creating some of the characters for him.  Not being a regular viewer myself (31’s probably a bit old for that sort of thing) I looked up their pictures, then started looking around for a pattern.  Someone must have come up with a good one, I thought.  

But after much searching, I couldn’t find a pattern that looked enough like them to satisfy me (and my all important little friend).  So, I wondered how difficult it could possibly be to make them up as I went along.  It certainly wasn’t easy, but I got there in the end.  

My crocheted Octonauts

There was a bit of trial and error involved, but with a few balls of Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino yarn for a nice neat finish, and a 3mm crochet hook, they were all done within a couple of weeks – Captain Barnacles, Kwaazi and Peso. 

Crocheted Octonaut - Captain Barnacles

I used felt from Hobbycraft to create their little accessories, which are stitched on with embroidery thread and a fine needle. 

Crocheted Octonauts - Kwaazi

 

Kwaazi’s eye patch wasn’t easy, nor was getting his tail to point upwards, but a bit of trial and error sorted all of that out. 

Crocheted Octonauts - Peso

 

Peso is my personal favourite.  I loved making his little yellow feet – and check out the tiny hat! 

I loved making them and it made it all the more worthwhile when my nephew recognised them instantly.  He now takes them to bed at night.  And lets them play football…

Octonauts three-a-side

It won’t be long until I attempt a few more of the characters…

 

 

11 thoughts on “Octonauts: A crocheted labour of love

  1. Kearsten

    These are excellent! I wish you had the patterns…my son would love them. Yours are by far the best I’ve seen! Great job, Auntie!!

    Reply
    1. katescrochet Post author

      Thank you! I did write down the patterns for a couple of them but they do need a bit of checking and sorting before I go ahead and put them out there. I’ll let you know when I do!

      Reply
  2. boopollyboo

    Wow these are fantastic! My little boy will freak out when I show him these…..actually I may not show him otherwise he will have me hooking them up all day and night!

    Reply
  3. thegrangerange.wordpress.com

    With all my children now in their twenties I have to confess that I am not familiar with these characters at all but still I must compliment you on them they look absolutely fab. And you made up the patterns yourself, well done you. I would desperately like to be able to make patterns but it really is not easy.

    Reply
  4. Natasha

    Hey!
    My husband wants to make these for his niece! We will totally pay for a written pattern, you’re right that there are no good ones out there.
    Your’s are definitely the best we’ve found in our octonauts pattern search!
    Thanks

    Reply
  5. Help a mama?

    Hi there, do you have a pattern for these octonauts? My daughter loves them and I don’t have a lot to spend on her this year as I’m off work, but would love to make her something. Thanks so much in advance!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

