A special commission

If you’ve read my blog before, you’ll know that in August my friend and colleague Darren sadly passed away. When I first started making my little crochet creatures a few months before he died, he asked me to make some personalised toys for his niece and nephew so that he could give them as Christmas presents. He reminded me about it all the time – and made me write down the spellings of their names so I didn’t get them wrong.

Obviously, I wanted to still make them, even though Darren isn’t here to double check my spelling or remind me to do them before I make anything for anyone else!

I’ve just finished the first one and both will be going to his family when they’re finished.

20131001-211746.jpg

20131001-211800.jpg

Once these are safely sent to their new home, I have a few commissions waiting for me – more characters from TV and books to follow on from Octonauts and Gruffalo. It’s a good job I like a challenge…

3 thoughts on “A special commission

Leave a comment